There are many celebrities who after trying their luck in Bollywood have been given a ticket by the political parties.

Here is a list of celebrities who joined politics to contribute and to serve the country.

1 Shatrugan Sinha

‘Khamosh’, Shatrughan Sinha has given this dialogue another direction and had given some legendary performances. He won Lok Sabha elections from Patna, Bihar and became the Health and Welfare Minister in Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s government.

2 Shekhar Suman

After trying his luck in Bollywood, Shekhar Suman joined politics in the year 2009. He contested the Lok Sabha elections from Patna, Bihar from the party Indian National Congress but lost to Shatrughan Sinha by a huge margin.

3 Govinda

Govinda was a successful actor of 90s. But after his downfall, he entered politics to serve the nation. He joined Indian National Congress. He served as an MP for five years, 2004-2009.

4 Rekha

Rekha has been into politics since 2012. She started her political career when she was nominated to Rajya Sabha.

5 Kirron Kher

Kirron Kher contested the Lok Sabha elections from Chandigarh. She did campaigns against social evils. She was an active participant in the 2011 anti-corruption movement with Anna Hazare.

6 Dharmendra

Dharam had a very successful career in Bollywood. He joined BJP and became an MP from Bikaner constituency.

7 Jaya Prada

Jaya Prada worked in Hindi, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam movies and created her name in Bollywood. She entered politics as Telegu Desam Party member in 1994. Then, she moved to Samajwadi Party.

8 Shabana Azmi

Shabana had been nominated as the member of Rajya Sabha in the Parliament in 1997. Since 1989 she has been the member of the National Integration Council headed by the Prime Minister of India.

9 Rajesh Khanna

Rajesh was elected to Lok Sabha on a Congress ticket from New Delhi constituency from 1992 to 1996.

10 Raj Babbar

Raj Babbar entered politics in 1989 after he joined V.P Singh’s, Janata Dal. He later joined Samajwadi Party and was elected as MP thrice. From 1994 to 1999 he was a member of Rajya Sabha. He was re-elected in the 14th Lok Sabha elections for the second term in 2004.Raj Babbar joined Indian National Congress in 2008 and became the MP for the fourth time. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, he contested from Ghaziabad and lost.

11 Vinod Khanna

Vinod was a Congress party MP from 1992 to 1996. After leaving Parliament, he continued to work for Congress party.

12 Jaya Bachchan

Jaya was elected as a Samajwadi Party member of parliament representing Rajya Sabha in 2010. She was further re-elected in 2012.

13 Amitabh Bachchan

Bachchan has a shining career in Bollywood till today but he entered politics to support his family friend Rajiv Gandhi. He stood from Allahabad seat in the 8th Lok Sabha elections against former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh H. N. Bahuguna. He won by a large margin.

14 Gul Panag

Gul Panag is a social activist and was the candidate of Aam Aadmi Party from Chandigarh for Indian general election, 2014.

15 Hema Malini

Hema contested for the general election from Mathura. She was also the member of Lok Sabha. Later she joined BJP in 2004 and was made the general secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here